Vari-Lite Controls Support Forum

Jester 24/48 - Only the first 8 faders do something? HELP!

alefleaf

Hello,

I am very very inexperienced with lighting, but I work as a sound/media technician in a secondary school with a Jester 24/48 that we are struggling to get working in a way that we want.

We have:

Jester 24/48

4 x Betapack 3

42 lights in our hall.

Currently the desk only seems to work on faders 1-8 and each fader controls about 5 lights at a time. The remaining 40 faders appear to do nothing. We would like to make each fader control one individual light.

I'm not even sure if this is something I begin to troubleshoot on the desk or on the Betapacks. I am really stuck! Is anyone able to offer any guidance on how I would make this work in the most painfully simplistic terms possible?

Thanks in advance!

Alex

Get the manuals for the Jester and the Betapack3.

You need to do a 1:1 DMX patch. That means the Jester talks on DMX addresses 1-24 for faders 1-24 [Preset A] (and also DMX addresses 1-24 using [Preset B], controlled by the Preset Masters) and each Betapack responds to a group of 6 DMX addresses, so your 4 Betapacks should show addresses 001, 007, 013, 019 on their front panel LEDs (*).

You've got 24 dimmer channels but 42 lights so some of your lights will need to be commoned (i.e. will come on together). Your lighting design might not require all 42 lights but essentially you have dimming to control 24 "things", where a "thing" might be one light, or multiple lights providing you don't exceed 2kW/10A total load per dimmer channel.

You'll be using the Jester in 2-preset 24 channel mode, not 48 channel "wide" mode.

(*) Betapack3 supports per-channel DMX address configuration. You need to make sure they are in the "simplest" mode where you give one "base" address (as per my list above).

Hi Alex,

Here is the manual to help you http://zero88.com/manuals/7340300_jestermanual_3_4.pdf