Vari-Lite Controls Support Forum

What desk? ML24

stowedout

Hi guys,

I have just joined the forum today. I volunteer with a small festival who also run other small events. I have no professional background but can carry out basic DMX programing. I have been using a cheap 48 channel Chinese made desk with the ability to record and run chases but little else. To date we use 8 traditional Par cans with dmx controlled dimmers, 14 fixed led par cans , 1 dmx controlled follow spot and a few pin spots. This year we bought our first moving heads and the limitations of our desk became clear.

we are looking to purchase a new desk which should have the following attributes

1. ability to add up more moving heads maybe 8-10 more

2. We train up local youngsters in the use of the desk so it must be (relatively) simple to operate

I think the Jester ML24 might be a good option. What do you guys think? I have read the tech spec but what are the real world pros and cons of the ML range? what is Zero 88's support like?

Any advice gratefully received.

Thanks

Chris

I personally dont like the jester range of desks as i dont like the software they run they also dont have the ability to do 'move on dark' when using moving lights and colour changers this is a must in my opinion. I would rather spend the extra and get a solution or flx. Given experience and the fact you want beginers to use it i would go for the solution as this gives real hands on faders for your dimmers that are separate to your cue stacks and subs.

As for zero88 support i have never had issues. for urgent queries they are on the end of a phone otherwise this forum is a good place where people are always happy to help. They also run regular training days on their desks.

What is the issue with Move in dark?