Vari-Lite Controls Support Forum

Level 12

Travers

Hi, I work in a school and we have a very old system. Most of are lighting desks are broken. Before the summer holidays we got a second hand Level 12, I tested it with a betapack 2 and all was working fine. Got back from the holidays went to see if it worked. I pluged one DIN cable into a Betapack 1 and the other into the betapack2. The betapack 2 is now dead and and im getting no control with the betapack1. The betapack1 works perfectly with another desk. I have tried pluging both DIN leads into 2 betapack1's and still nothing. The green lights on the dimmers go off when connected and no light on the act 12. Please help. :?

Hi,

It sounds like you know what you are doing but it may be worth checking the following:

The desk requires a power supply feed from the dimmer. This is fed back along the control cable (on pin 7 of the 8-pib DIN connector). This is usually +20V. If the Level 12 has come from an installation that uses e.g. Strand dimmers which use negative voltage signalling, it may have had an inverter kit fitted in which case it will require a -20V supply.

The Betapacks can be set to provide either +20V or -20V. In the Betapack1 this is a link on the PCB behind the back cover. For a Betapack2 this is a small switch on the front of the dimmer next to the 8-pin DIN socket (maybe behind a grey panel fixed with a screw). Manuals for both products are still available from the Zero88 website.

In both cases there will be an LED on the front of the dimmer. If it is red then the dimmer is supplying +20V. If it is green then -20V. Check your Betapack1 and Betapack2 are showing the same colour - you should do this by turning on the dimmers _without_ the control cables connected.