Vari-Lite Controls Support Forum

How do I "capture" values...?

chrisparry_LD

Hi..

I'm an American working in Bangkok ian a small theatre with a BullFrog Desk. The operator is Thai and speaks little English, I'm English and speak little Thai. Add that to the fact that I've never worked on a Zero88 Bullforg desk before.. (I'm used to Obsession and Strnd Theatre Desks..) and you can imagine the problems.. :cry:

I want to do something simple (to me) but the operator seems to be making it so difficult... and I don't know any other way.. (We are running 2 moving lights and the rest are conventionals..)

Imagine a simple cue structure of Q1-Q20.

In Q3 I want to move my moving lights to a new position and color, and keep them there through (and including) Q 10. (Then they can go back to the old position/color).

How can I "capture" those new ML values, and put them into Q3-Q10.

I know the desk will not "Record to Track". It seems to be of the "Cue Only" system.

Right now the operator records the new look for Q3. The he calls up Q4 on stage (whence the ML's move back to their old settings..) then he keys in all the new values AGAIN, and finally records Q4.. and so on.. and so on.. to Q10.

You can imagine how long THIS takes!!

There MUST be a quicker/easier way. Please, tell me what it is, (in words of one syllable please), and just maybe I can tell him.

Chris Parry

LD

There MUST be a quicker/easier way. Please, tell me what it is, (in words of one syllable please), and just maybe I can tell him.

Put the desk in Partial Programming Mode (SuperUser->DeskSetup->ProgramMode). Then only LTP parameters that you 'tag' (yellow fixture LEDs flashing) will be recorded in each cue. HTP (brightness) parameters are ALWAYS recorded.

Does this mean that the LTP (which I guess means Latest Takes Precedence) parameters will stay put (captured), even when he brings the next cue onstage..?