Jump to content
Zero 88 Community Support Forum
kgallen

Purging "old" fixture definitions

Recommended Posts

FLX

I've been developing the fixture profile for a new light (Showtec Shark Wash One, see other posts). This means I read in my personal fixture library a number of times as I develop/debug it and Update the patched fixtures. Because I've started to set up palettes, e.g. position palettes, I've not wanted to unpatch the fixtures or use the "Clear User" option in reset. So I read in my fixture files from USB again. The result of this is that the desk has multiple definitions for the same named fixture. It's hard to know during fixture update which is my "new/updated" fixture profile because the Manufacturer->Fixture->Mode/Channels list has multiple entries for the same fixture, nothing to differentiate them other than order - last=newest? It also means that n-1 of them is a definition I no longer want, because the latest is the "greatest"!

How can I manage this on the desk? Clearly at the mid-point of my process there will be the "old" fixture definition - currently patched and "used" in the showfile - and the updated one that I want to move to. At that point I want to get rid of the "old" one(s). This presumes I can identify which is the "old" and the "new" other than assuming the list has the newest at the bottom.

Is there a way to work out which is which, or can the UI be enhanced to help? Can I purge "old" fixture definitions manually? Of course the desk holds lots of "unused" fixture definitions, so it's only the older duplicates that I want to get rid of.

Sorry, that was probably clear as mud...

Thanks,
Kevin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Kevin,

This is something we can look into. Whenever we're experimenting with fixture files, we'll add a version number to the end of the fixture's mode to see which is which. I'm guessing you have many separate User Files for other fixtures on the console, which is why you don't want to Clear all from  the desk- currently there is no way to remove an individual fixture from the library.

Using Clear Fixtures from Clear options will remove all user fixtures from the console unless they are currently patched, in which case they will be left in the library.

Edward

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, Edward- Z88 said:

we'll add a version number to the end of the fixture's mode to see which is which. I'm guessing you have many separate User Files for other fixtures on the console

Usually I have my whole custom set as one collection written out from the PC Fixture Editor tool (I split out the new ones to a single entry if I upload it to the Forum for you to add to the released library). So this means I read in the whole lot again. But also usually I do Clear User first so I don't get double everything. The "issue" comes once I've started some detailed desk setup and don't want to use Clear User - which as you say wouldn't help with patched fixtures anyway as they get held in the showfile.

I usually version-number everything I do, but hitherto haven't added a version ID to individual fixture modes, so maybe I will have to do start doing that.

Thanks for considering the issue anyway. No idea how all this will change when the Correlian (???) library change happens!

Regards, Kevin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.