Vari-Lite Controls Support Forum

Software Update - problems installing it

pdodo

I'm a tech, and my shop just got a fat frog. i'm the first to take a crack at it. The console says "Operating system not found. Please insert an upgrade disk". So i installed the disk that that came with the console (Desk software release 2.0, Fixture software 5.0). It loads then nothing else happens. the screen reads version 6.0. What are the instructions for upgrading/loading the software. :(

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Pdodo,

that´s weird. You should download the actual software 8.x from here and dezip to fresh formatted floppy. This new software disk put in your Frog BEFORE it is turned on!!!!

Now plug in your desk and the software update starts automaticly.

You have to confirm twice that´s all.

That´s the normal way!!!!

Almost it´s a broken floppy disk which causes problems.

best regards

Sven

Sven Paulsen

Klangfarbe Vienna

• 3 weeks later...

I've tryed to load an old version (8.1.1) - it's loading normally (on main lcd appearing "upgrade? - yes or no". But the new one - starting to read disk near 30 sec. but then appearing usual loading of the desk without proposition of new upgrade. I've turned off and then turned on power but it's in vain. Thanks.

I have checked the file from the Zero 88 website and successfully upgraded a desk here with it.

There is a known problem with certain types of floppy disk drive, which were installed in some of the desks.

Can you try upgrading 4/5 times, switching the desk off/on each time and see if that works.

K-Nine : Technically Advanced Roving Dog In Space

Bran Media | Myspace

Please explain what do you mean "...try to upgrade 4/5 times..." :?: