Jump to content


Photo

problem with multi-part scene


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 gatto

gatto
  • Regulars
  • 10 posts

Posted 19 April 2006 - 10:27 AM

I use a Illusion 120 in full mode. I have some multi-part scenes in my sequence. When the mutli-part scene arise on stage, only the first part is viewed. If I edit live the first part and I save again (with OK button), the others parts are ok.

What is the problem? I use only traditional.

Thank you.

#2 Kirkup_xp

Kirkup_xp
  • Validating
  • 1,062 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2006 - 12:26 PM

Hi Gatto

Can you confirm what version of software you are using on your Illusion 120? The latest software is 7.5, available from here.

If you're running the latest software, let us know and we'll investigate furthur.



Peter
Peter Kirkup

#3 gatto

gatto
  • Regulars
  • 10 posts

Posted 20 April 2006 - 01:10 PM

Hi Peter,

In fact it's an Illusion 500 with software 1.7.1. The BIOS is the 5.1.1 and the serial number is 00-342-01 XXXXXXXX

Thank you for your help.

Gatto

Moderation: Serial Number removed from public forum.

#4 Kirkup_xp

Kirkup_xp
  • Validating
  • 1,062 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2006 - 03:09 PM

Hi Gatto

If possible, could you upload your show file to this thread? To do this, click "Add Reply" and then use the "Add an Attachment" box below to upload the file.


Many thanks



Peter
Peter Kirkup

#5 gatto

gatto
  • Regulars
  • 10 posts

Posted 03 May 2006 - 09:26 PM

Hi Peter,

Here is my show. Sorry for the delay, I'd to find a PC (I work with Macintosh) with a floppy disk... I changed the cuelist and remove my multipart scenes and replaced them by macro end masters link. The problem is with the cue 70 for example. Thank you if you know what is the problem or what I'm doing wrong.

BUT... I can't add my attachment, I've an error message that says "the extension isf is not allowed". What can I do?

Gatto

#6 Kirkup_xp

Kirkup_xp
  • Validating
  • 1,062 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 May 2006 - 10:15 PM

Hi Gatso

Sorry for the problems with the upload - i'll look into it. If you could email the file to me (pkirkup@zero88.com) then i'll take a look at it.


Peter
Peter Kirkup

#7 Tobias

Tobias
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 June 2006 - 10:25 AM

We have the same problem with an illusion500.

How do you fixed this problem????

#8 Amy Worrall

Amy Worrall
  • Regulars
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 December 2016 - 01:22 AM

I'm not expecting anything, as I'm replying over ten years later, but I'm experiencing this bug as well. Illusion 500, latest software. I'm not sure what triggers the bug… when it starts happening for a cue, it'll keep happening until I edit the other parts, make a slight change, and re-save each part. I'm pretty sure it's an edit mode bug of some description, since if I've got the cue into a state where it behaves properly, playing back the show multiple times doesn't seem to trigger the corruption.

 

When a cue is misbehaving, it still has the correct data stored in it (which I can see if I press Edit or Preview), it just doesn't play back properly.



#9 iank99

iank99
  • Regulars
  • 152 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 12 December 2016 - 09:50 AM

"Part" cues on the Illusion have always been a bit buggy (which is a PiTA as I used them a lot on Geniuspro) and cause a lot of swearing to get them running.

 

They seemed especially mardy when trying to edit them which is probably the issue your seeing, so I tend not to use more than a couple of "parts" and cheat with auto follow on cues. There seems to be no rhyme nor reason to it except I think the original programmer couldn't get his head round double linked lists (which I think would be the way to implement a cue list and parts) - in my head, I'm going to write a new version of Illusion OS which will breathe life back in to the desk (I'm also going to win the lottery and live in Nevada but hey!)



#10 kgallen

kgallen
  • Trained on FLX
  • 366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chepstow, UK
  • Interests:Alcora, Betapack, FatFrog, FLX

Posted 12 December 2016 - 04:55 PM

 mardy

 

Well it's a good job you're responding to a fellow Midlander. I've had to explain this regionalism more than once to my Southerner wife!  :ph34r: Down there they have no usable equivalent!



#11 Jon Hole

Jon Hole

    Product Manager

  • Zero 88 Admin
  • 1,762 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cwmbran, Wales

Posted 12 December 2016 - 05:47 PM

mardy

 

I've had to explain this regionalism more than once to my Southerner wife!  :ph34r: Down there they have no usable equivalent!

 

I'm afraid you're going to have to explain this regionalism to me too!


Jon Hole
Product Manager, Entertainment Lighting Controls


#12 kgallen

kgallen
  • Trained on FLX
  • 366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chepstow, UK
  • Interests:Alcora, Betapack, FatFrog, FLX

Posted 12 December 2016 - 07:07 PM

I'm afraid you're going to have to explain this regionalism to me too!


Oh, sorry, 'fraid not. Secret language you see. We can't let you in on everything, Devon is certainly in the 'down South' camp 😂

#13 Edward

Edward
  • Trained on FLX
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pontypridd
  • Interests:Lighting and Drumming

Posted 12 December 2016 - 10:35 PM

Is Somerset far north enough to find out?😂

#14 Jon Hole

Jon Hole

    Product Manager

  • Zero 88 Admin
  • 1,762 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cwmbran, Wales

Posted 12 December 2016 - 10:44 PM

#justsaying

 

Attached File  grid-cell-30025-1445443110-0.jpg   71.48KB   0 downloads


Jon Hole
Product Manager, Entertainment Lighting Controls


#15 Amy Worrall

Amy Worrall
  • Regulars
  • 12 posts

Posted 12 December 2016 - 11:21 PM

"Part" cues on the Illusion have always been a bit buggy (which is a PiTA as I used them a lot on Geniuspro) and cause a lot of swearing to get them running.

 

They seemed especially mardy when trying to edit them which is probably the issue your seeing, so I tend not to use more than a couple of "parts" and cheat with auto follow on cues. There seems to be no rhyme nor reason to it except I think the original programmer couldn't get his head round double linked lists (which I think would be the way to implement a cue list and parts) - in my head, I'm going to write a new version of Illusion OS which will breathe life back in to the desk (I'm also going to win the lottery and live in Nevada but hey!)

 

I would… probably be up for helping with that! (I've had a desk design running round my head for a while. It involves motorised faders, and a strange hybrid of HTP/LTP for submasters. A girl can dream!)

 

The multipart cues are a shame but probably workable with… as long as I can test things as I go! I was programming blind for a lot of this show, so couldn't tell when things broke.

 

The other bug that's annoying me is that the desk sometimes interprets a cursor up/down keypress as a Go. For instance, I'm outputting cue 1, I use the down arrow to scroll down the list, at some point (e.g. cue 30) it'll switch to the currently selected cue. 

 

It pretty much does it every time if I "Edit blind" a cue I'm not currently on… afterwards, as soon as I press a cursor key, it'll jump to the newly selected cue. It doesn't seem to do it if I use the mouse instead of the arrows.

 

Amy



#16 kgallen

kgallen
  • Trained on FLX
  • 366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chepstow, UK
  • Interests:Alcora, Betapack, FatFrog, FLX

Posted 13 December 2016 - 08:20 AM

I'm also going to win the lottery and live in Nevada but hey!


Come on Ian, you're from Coventry, so be a bit more realistic. I think you should aim at.... Rugby!

mardy - I'm assuming our southerner friends found it as the first item from Google!

Sorry to Amy for going off topic so far...!

#17 Jon Hole

Jon Hole

    Product Manager

  • Zero 88 Admin
  • 1,762 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cwmbran, Wales

Posted 13 December 2016 - 09:52 AM

mardy - I'm assuming our southerner friends found it as the first item from Google!

 

Yep, it's just up the road!

 

Attached File  mardy.png   463.65KB   0 downloads


Jon Hole
Product Manager, Entertainment Lighting Controls


#18 Amy Worrall

Amy Worrall
  • Regulars
  • 12 posts

Posted 13 December 2016 - 10:27 AM

Sorry to Amy for going off topic so far...!

 

Hehe. It wasn't my thread to begin with :)

 

It's weird now I live in the South. People use all kinds of odd words. But mardy is perfectly normal :)

 

(Yes, Coventry is definitely in the South. I think Nottingham is about where the South starts.)



#19 Jon Hole

Jon Hole

    Product Manager

  • Zero 88 Admin
  • 1,762 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cwmbran, Wales

Posted 13 December 2016 - 12:54 PM

(I've had a desk design running round my head for a while. It involves motorised faders, and a strange hybrid of HTP/LTP for submasters. A girl can dream!)

I'm intrigued, if you're interested in sharing via PM / email???


Jon Hole
Product Manager, Entertainment Lighting Controls


#20 Amy Worrall

Amy Worrall
  • Regulars
  • 12 posts

Posted 13 December 2016 - 02:32 PM

I'm intrigued, if you're interested in sharing via PM / email???

Sure! I'll try and write some of it up at some point. The idea was to build it as a hobby project using a raspberry pi, but like so many projects it hasn't happened yet :)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users