Vari-Lite Controls Support Forum

Indicate levels from submasters

LeeStoddart

When in the PW could we indicate (colour code) levels which arise from a submaster.

In EDIT LIVE a memory I noticed that a couple of channels were up and should not have been so I selected them, wheeled them down to zero (they became tagged), SAVE, on exit from the PW the channels popped up to FULL again. I start cursing (it is late in the evening) and start changing Q's just before and rechanging the same Q - several unsuccessful attempts later I see that I have a submaster slider at FULL :oops: . Yes I know it's my own stupidity for not noticing but a visual cue on the screen would help :wink:

Lee Stoddart

This is an interesting point - When looking at the brightness levels in the PW it is not currently possible to determine the SOURCE of this data, ie it could be the Playback X, Playback A/B, a submaster or a level entered by the user.

I'm not sure how easy it would be to determine where the level originated, especially if it was changing as a result of a chase or sound to light memory running, but it is something we could look into.

I can see how it would be useful to see which levels were coming from the submasters, and colour coding may be one solution.

I'm just wondering if we had different colours for Playback X, Playback A/B, Submasters and user entry in the PW it might get too confusing - maybe we just need to discriminate those coming from submasters - what do you think ?

K-Nine : Technically Advanced Roving Dog In Space

Bran Media | Myspace

I'm just wondering if we had different colours for Playback X, Playback A/B, Submasters and user entry in the PW it might get too confusing - maybe we just need to discriminate those coming from submasters - what do you think ?

Hmmm -

Firstly I think this question only arises on the BRIGHTNESS section.